Date: 8 Jan 2016

Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his side to take on Worcester Warriors in Aviva Premiership Rugby at the Ricoh Arena this Sunday, kick off 2pm.

Young has made four changes to the side ahead of Sunday’s clash, with Josh Bassett, Sailosi Tagicakibau, Edd Shervington and Kearnan Myall all handed starting spots.

In the backline, the changes come in the back three, with Josh Bassett named on the left wing, Sailosi Tagicakibau back in the side on the right and Charles Piutau shifting back to fullback.

In the pack, after impressing from the bench last weekend, both Edd Shervington and Kearnan Myall both get starts, at hooker and in the second row respectively.

Ahead of the game, Director of Rugby Dai Young said: “It’s always frustrating to lose any game, but it was the nature of the performance last weekend that was more disappointing to me than the result. We know as a group that performances like that are not acceptable and we will look to put that right this weekend.

“The squad has responded really well this week; training has been at a higher tempo, with more physicality and focus. We know how tough Worcester are, not only from watching their recent performances where they pushed Harlequins and Bath so close, but also because we played them in pre-season. I’m not surprised by how well they’ve already done.

“We are playing at home, I believe in my squad and this is the type of game we should win if we want to reach our top-six target. However, I am also very mindful that, if we’re a little bit off the money and not quite at the races mentally, we could come unstuck.”

Unavailable for selection through injury: Jake Cooper-Woolley, Carlo Festuccia, Nathan Hughes, Alapati Leiua, Alex Lozowski, Andrea Masi, Christian Wade.

The quickest way to purchase tickets is online, with print at home tickets, at www.wasps.co.uk

Tickets will also be available this week and on match day at the Ricoh Arena Ticket Office, but please arrive early to avoid queues.

Wasps team to play Worcester Warriors at the Ricoh Arena on Sunday 10 January, kick off 2pm.


15. Charles Piutau

14. Sailosi Tagicakibau

13. Elliot Daly

12. Ben Jacobs

11. Josh Bassett

10. Jimmy Gopperth

9. Joe Simpson

1. Matt Mullan

2. Edd Shervingtom

3. Lorenzo Cittadini

4. Joe Launchbury

5. Kearnan Myall

6. James Haskell (c)

7. George Smith

8. Sam Jones

16. Ashley Johnson

17. Simon McIntyre

18. Phil Swainston

19. Bradley Davies

20. Guy Thompson

21. Dan Robson

22. Ruaridh Jackson

23. Brendan Macken